Skip to main content

ART RESEARCH: Art Reproductions

Art Work Reproductions

Art Work Reproductions

  • If you want a reproduction of an art work for a class assignment, either an essay or presentation, use a reproduction taken from a book in the B.D. Owens Library collection or a book REQUESTED from MOBIUS. Do not use a reproduction from Google Images or any other free Internet image service.

  • The essays in Oxford Art Online often contain links to art reproductions in art museum web sites and other online sources. Click the Images tab if available.

  • Try Google Image Search or the image search of some other free web search engine.

How to find books on drawings at Owens Library
Type of Search
Search Examples
Browse the 3rd Floor Collection 741.94 call number range - Check the same call number range in the Quarto and Folio section of the 3rd Floor
Search the library catalog by subject

Drawing
Human Figure in Art
Drapery In Art

Search the library catalog by keyword Copy and paste the following search into the keyword search form:
s:drawing
Search the library catalog by keyword, limiting to time period, country, or region Copy and paste the following searches into the keyword search form or Ask a Librarian how to modify these searches to get a result more relevant to your needs:
s:drawing and renaissance
s:drawing and 19th
s:drawing and ital*
s:drawing and europ*
Search the library catalog by keyword, limiting to a specific artist Copy and paste the following searches into the keyword search form or Ask a Librarian how to modify these searches to get a result more relevant to your needs:
s:drawing and michelangelo
s:michelangelo
Search all Missouri college and university libraries for books Go to the MOBIUS catalog and use the search strategies listed above. To find books about portrait drawing use the following search:
s:portrait drawing
Use REQUEST to have the book you want delivered to the Owens Library Services Desk in 3-5 days.

Great drawings of all time
This four volume set contains examples of master drawings from various artists and time periods. Volume one contains master drawings from Italy. Volume 2 presents master drawings that are of German, Flemish, or Dutch origin. Volume 3 has examples from the French drawing tradition. Volume 4 includes master drawings of oriental, Spanish, English, American, and contemporary origin. Many drawings represented in this set are portrait drawings, figure drawings, and many drawings of drapery or draped figures.

Master drawings of the Italian Renaissance / Claire Van Cleave
This volume has many fine examples of figure drawings from European sources throughout recorded history.

World's greatest figure drawings
This volume has many fine examples of drawings from master artists in the Italian renaissance, including studies of drapery.

Leonardo da Vinci, master draftsman
Arguably the greatest draftsman of all time. This books documents an exhibit that includes representative works that show the scope of Leonardo's output. This includes figure drawings, portrait drawings, drapery and draped figure studies, groundbreaking anatomical drawings, architectural drawings, botanical drawings, designs for theatrical productions and costumes, plans for military and flying machines, and countless other subjects.

Michelangelo: the drawings of a genius
The ultimate master of figure drawing and using the human figure as a featured element in composition of sculpture and paintings, this books contains copious figure drawings from all periods of his output, including surviving preperatory drawings for the Sistine Chapel frescos, the Medici Chapel sculptural group and his later presentation drawings, widely copied by others. Also included are portrait studies and studies of draped figures.

History and technique of old master drawings, a handbook
A diverse collection of master drawings from various key periods of European production are selected by an prominent art historian. Figure studies, portrait drawings, drapery and draped figure drawings, landscapes and cityscapes, and still life motifs from many eras and regions are
inlcuded in this survey.

Loading
[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]