Skip to main content

GEOGRAPHY RESEARCH: Citing

Journals

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

 [ online journal ]

Link to original article      

  NOTES

      1. Gerda Lerner, "The Grimke Sisters and the Struggle against Race Prejudice,"  The Journal of Negro History 48, no. 4 (October 1993): 278.
      2. Lerner, “The Grimke Sisters,” 290.
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO AUTHORS)

Kovan, Seth, and Sonya Michel. "Womanly Duties: Maternalist Politics and Origins of Welfare States in France, Germany, Great Britain, and the United States." American Historical Review 95, no. 4, October 1990: 1076-1108. Accessed June 23, 2016. http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/2163479.

Link to original article      

NOTES

      1. Seth Koven and Sonya Michel, "Womanly Duties: Maternalist Politics and Origins of Welfare States in France, Germany, Great Britain, and the United States," American Historical Review 95, no. 4 (October 1990): 1079, accessed April 13, 2016, http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/2163479.
      2. Koven and Michel, "Womanly Duties," 1077.
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (THREE AUTHORS)

Reddick, Christopher G., Akemi Takeokaand Chatfield, and Patricia A. Jaramillo. " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs: A Multi-method Approach." Government Information Quarterly 32, no. 2, April 2015: 129-141. Accessed June 23, 2016. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2015.01.003.

Link to original article      

NOTES

      1. Christopher G. Reddick, Akemi Takeokaand Chatfield, and Patricia A. Jaramillo, " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs: A Multi-method Approach," Government Information Quarterly 32, no. 2 (April 2015), 130, accessed June 23, 2016, http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2015.01.003.
      2. Reddick, Chatfield, Jaramillo, " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs," 141.


BIBLIOGRAP
HY (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

Bovenschen, Silvia, Blackwell Jeannine, Moore Johanna, and Weckmueller Beth. “The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth: The Witch, Subject of the Appropriation of Nature and Object of the Domination of Nature.” New German Critique no. 15, 1978: 83-119. Accessed April 13, 2011. http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/487908.

Link to original article      

NOTES

      1. Silvia Bovenschen et al., "The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth: The Witch, Subject of the Appropriation of Nature and Object of the Domination of Nature," New German Critique no. 15 (1978): 110, accessed June 23, 2016, http://dx.doi.org/ 10.2307/487908.
      2. Bovenschen et al., "The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth," 85.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

[ journal one author ]

Link to original article      

  NOTES

      1. Jon Lawrence, "Forging a Peaceable Kingdom: War, Violence, and Fear of Brutalization in Post-World War Britain," The Journal of Modern History 75, no. 3 (September 2003): 558.
      2. Lawrence, “Forging a Peaceable Kingdom,” 290.

Loading

Books

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)   

(For more examples look on pages 166-172 in the eighth edition)

[ print book one author ]    

Link to original book

NOTES

      1. Norman F. Cantor, Medieval History: The Life and Death of a Civilization, 2nd ed. (New York: Macmillan, 1969), 152-54.
      2. Cantor, Medieval History, 157.
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

Faigley, Lester, Diana George, Anna Palchik, and Cynthia Selfe. Picturing Texts. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004

  NOTES

      1. Lester Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, (New York: W.W. Norton, 2004), 45.
      2. Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, 48.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO EDITORS)

(For more examples look on page 172 in the eighth edition)

[ Example ]

Link to original book     

  NOTES

      1. Nathan Rosenstein and Robert Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, (Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010), 70-72.
      2. Rosenstein and Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, 77.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

[ book chapter ]

Link to original book 

NOTES

      1. Phyllis Culham. “Women in the Roman Republic.” In The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic, ed. Harriet I. Flower (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 127-48.
      2. Culham. “Women in the Roman Republic,” 130.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (MULTIPLE EDITORS)

Sleeper-Smith, Susan, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, eds. Why You Can't Teach United States History Without American Indians. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015

NOTES 

      1. Sleeper-Smith et al., xi-xii.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 178-180 in the eighth edition)

[ Example ]

Link to original book     

NOTES

      1. Phyllis Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” In The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic, ed. Harriet I. Flower (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 127-48.
      2. Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” 130.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR, MULTIPLE EDITORS)

Pearsall, Sarah M. S. “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution.” In Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, edited by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, 57-70. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015

Link to original book   

NOTES

      1. Sarah M. S. Pearsall, “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution,” In Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, eds. Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015), 58.
      2. Pearsall, 60.

 

Link to original book  

NOTES

[ Turabian Citation for Multivolume Book ]

      1. Joyce E. Salisbury, ed., , vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present, (Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004), 380.
      2. Salisbury, The Medieval World, vol. 2, 381.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (Separate editor of each volume, Separate title of each volume)

Salisbury, Joyce E., ed. The Medieval World. Vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present. Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.

   Each volume of the multivolume set The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life has a separate editor and volume title. 1. The ancient world / Gregory S. Aldrete, volume editor -- 2. The medieval world / Joyce E. Salisbury, volume editor -- 3. 15th and 16th centuries / Lawrence Morris, volume editor -- 4. 17th and 18th centuries / Peter Seelig, volume editor -- 5. 19th century / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor -- 6. The modern world / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO AUTHORS)   

(For more examples look on page 181 in the eighth edition)

[ Example ]

link to ebook

NOTES 

      1. Isaiah Berlin and Henry Hardy. The Soviet Mind: Russian Culture under Communism (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press, 2004), 56-58, accessed July 12, 2016, http://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid&db=nlebk&AN=112216&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
      2. Berlin and Hardy, The Soviet Mind, 59.

Well Known Reference Book

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Example ]

NOTES

       1. Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. “Daedalus.
      2. Oxford Classical Dictionary, “Daedalus.

Less Well Known Reference Book

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., New York: Facts on File, 1995.

NOTES 

       1. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., (New York: Facts on File, 1995), 15. 
     2. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, 16.

NOTES

       1. Polybius, Histories 1.6.4.
      2. Polyb, 1.6.5

(17.6.1, p. 193)

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

[ Example ]

 NOTES

      1. Mark Arvid Warburton, “’For the Purposes of Example and Justice’: Native American Incarceration in the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1803-1849,” (PhD. diss, University of Iowa, 2011), 67.
      2. Warburton, 78.

Loading

Turabian-Can't find what you're looking for?

[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]