Skip to main content

CRIMINOLOGY RESEARCH: Off-campus access

Off-campus access

How do I access databases off-campus?

  1. Enter your name and 919# followed by NW. Example: 919123456NW​​ 

     
  2. When prompted, enter your Northwest Missouri State University username and myNorthwest password (Northwest faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students).

     
  3. If that doesn't work, click the key image on the reset NW Password page [ looks like graphic >> ]

     
  4. Otherwise, contact the Help Desk via email or by phone at (660) 562-1634.
[ key graphic for NW password reset ]

Who can access library databases?

  • All Northwest faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. 
  • Owens Library's electronic resource license agreements prohibit off-campus access to these resources unless a student is currently enrolled. Students who have a delayed grade in a course and who are not currently enrolled are not current students as defined by these license agreements.

Why am I getting "user name or password was not correct" error

This often means that your password was expired or you typed an incorrect password. The first step of troubleshooting this is to try myNorthwest to see if you can login successfully.

  1. When you cannot log into myNorthwest either, please call Help Desk at (660) 562-1634 to reset your password.
  2. If your password has been expired, you need to change the password following the instructions. Read this page for detailed information.
  3. If you can successfully login and do not see any message from myNorthwest, but you still cannot log in to search library databases or read linked articles, please check if you have any credential- or password- management software on your machine. Northwest provided laptops have this software. The credential software will not automatically update your password even if you have updated one for the campus login. You need to type in your new password  login page in order to apply the changes on your machine.

I logged in but nothing seems to happen

Please check these four settings in your browser:

  1. Popup blocker:
    Disable pop-up blockers while you are accessing the restricted databases through EZproxy.
  2. Firewall:
    If you see "this page cannot be displayed," it usually means a firewall issue on your side. If you have installed personal firewall software such as Norton Antivirus. You either need to allow access to ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu (or 198.209.246.37) per port or add ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu as a safe site.
  3. Cookies:
    EZproxy and some databases send "cookies" when you connect to them to verify that you are an authorized user. If your browser reports an error receiving a "cookie," you have to enable them in your browser settings.
    The default setting for most browsers will accept EZproxy cookies without a problem. However, if you changed it, you will see a blank page. Change browser options to accept all cookies.
  4. JavaScript:
    Again, the default setting for most browsers will work well with EZproxy's JavaScript. However, if you changed it, you will need to enable it again in order to access the library databases.

I'm using my laptop on campus and see the "this page cannot be displayed" message everytime I try to access library databases

  • Use the NWMSU_Secure wireless network instead of the NWMSU_Guest wireless network. All University provided laptops are capable of this setting. Register your laptop with the Information Technology Helpdesk at (660) 562-1634 to access the NWMSU_Secure wireless network.
  • Use a network cable and plug it in a network jack nearby. You can check out a cable from the Library Services Desk on the 1st floor of the library.

I can use the databases at home, but not at work

Many corporate, government, and educational institutions use firewalls for security purposes and block every port other than standard web browser ports. 

I got a hostname error

Please send the Help Desk an email that includes the error message.

"Page not found," "Cannot find server or DNS," or browser waits and waits

This usually means there is an issue in the Northwest Missouri State University Campus Network. Please send the Help Desk an email that includes the message.

Article URL doesn't work

When off-campus, add this string in front of the URL:  http://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=

Chat with a librarian if you need more assistance. 

What is a DOI and how can I get to the article with it?

DOI is a unique alphanumeric string (such as 10.1078/1433-8319-0056) assigned to identify content.  


A doi link that will return to the article, even while off-campus, looks like this:
 

http://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://doi.org/10.1078/1433-8319-0056

[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]