Skip to main content

Teaching Resources: Instruction menu

Library instruction for specific courses

The library instruction sessions listed below are designed for specific courses. Each has a guide available under Library Resources, and sometimes incorporated in a course module.

Course Description Estimated time
Digital Literacy (online or in-person)

Students will learn to:

  • Develop keywords and phrases
  • Use Academic Search Complete and Google Advance search more effectively
  • Evaluate webpages and articles
  • Search for a book using the library catalog
  • Understand the differences between sources

50-90 minutes

Principles of Biology Lab

Students will learn to:

  • Find scientific, peer reviewed, original research sources
  • Search effectively
  • Cite an article in Scientific Style (CSE Style)

90 minutes

Fundamentals of Oral Communication

Students will learn to:

  • Develop keywords and phrases
  • Navigate databases
  • Search and find articles
  • Cite a variety of resources in APA

Sample topics include career information, persuasive speech, and informative speech

50-90 minutes

Composition I & II

Students will learn to:

  • Develop keywords and phrases
  • Navigate databases
  • Search for scholarly articles

50 minutes

Business courses

Students will learn how to navigate the following databases:

  • Business Source Premier
  • NexisUni Business
  • IBIS
  • Statista

20-50 minutes

Theater Appreciation Students are shown the specialized LibGuide and how to use it for the assignment's research. 20 minutes

Other specific course instruction available upon request.

Library instruction a la carte

Build your own library instruction session using the options below. Other options are available upon request.

Item Description Estimated Time
Library website and catalog

The librarian will give a tour of the library's homepage and show students the best places to get information or help. Students will also learn the basics of finding books, videos and more in the catalog.

10-15 minutes

Effective search strategies

Students will learn how to develop keywords and phrases, how to combine the search terms, and refine their topic.

20 minutes

Popular vs. scholarly sources Students will learn the difference between newspapers, magazines, and journals. 10 minutes
Specific database searching The instructor chooses a database or related databases for the librarian to demo and have students follow along. 15-20 minutes
Evaluating sources Students will learn how to evaluate different sources and choose appropriate sources for projects. 20 minutes
Finding primary sources Students will learn the difference between a primary and secondary source and use an appropriate database to search for primary sources. 15-20 minutes
Finding original research Students will learn the difference between original and secondary research and use an appropriate database to search for original research articles. 15-20 minutes
Citing sources The instructor will choose a citation style for the librarian to discuss (APA, MLA, Turabian, CSE, or MLA). Students will learn the basics of a parenthetical citation and full citation and how to read the library's citation page.

10 minutes

Avoiding plagiarism Students will learn what plagiarism is, how to avoid it, and the importance of citing information. 10 minutes
Request articles and books through ILL and MOBIUS Students will learn about interlibrary loan and how to complete the form for requests. The librarian will also show how to search the MOBIUS catalog to request a book.

10 minutes

Librarians

Ask a Librarian's picture
Ask a Librarian
chat loading...

Contact:
[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]