Skip to main content

Turabian Style Citation Examples: Authors

Author examples

ONE AUTHOR

Notes:
     1. First Name [Middle Initial.] Last Name,
     2. Last Name,  

BibliographyLast Name, First name [Middle Initial]. 

Notes:
     1. Jay M. Bernstein,
     2. Bernstein,  

Bibliography: Bernstein, Jay M. 

TWO AUTHORS

Notes: 
     1. First Name [Middle Initial.] Last Name and First Name Last Name
     2. Last Name and Last Name,  

Bibliography: Last Name, First name [Middle Initial.], and First Name Last Name. 

Notes: 
     1. Eric Foner, and John A. Garraty,
     2. Foner and Garraty,  

Bibliography: Foner, Eric, and John A. Garraty. 

THREE AUTHORS

Notes: 
     1. First Name [Middle Initial.] Last Name, First Name Last Nameand First Name Last Name,
     2. Last Name and Last Name and Last Name,

Bibliography: Last Name, First name [Middle Initial.], First Name Last Nameand First Name Last Name. 

Notes: 
     1. Joe Soss, Jacob S. Hacker, and Suzanne Mettler,
     2. Soss, Hacker, and Mettler,

Bibliography: Last Name, First name [Middle Initial.], First Name Last Name, and First Name Last Name. 

FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS

For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the bibliography; in the note, list only the first author, followed by "et al."("and others"):

Notes: First Name [Middle Initial.] Last Name et al., 

Bibliography: Last Name, First name [Middle initial.], First name, Last name, First name, Last name, First name, Last name, and First name, Last name.
 

Notes: Jay M. Bernstein et al., 

Bibliography: Bernstein, Jay M., Roger Berkowitz, Jeffrey Katz, and Thomas Keenan.

Bibliography:

After the first instance and author with multiple works, replace the author or editor's name with a long dash.

Last Name, First Name. Title.

---. Title.

See the Turabian manual, p. 152 for more examples.

Foner, Eric. The Fiery Trial : Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery.

---. A House Divided : America in the Age of Lincoln.

Some faculty recommend use of ibid (Latin for the same) to shorten a footnote to a worked cited in the immediately preceding note. (See Turabian manual, p. 161 for more information). 

For example:

     11. Smith, History Matters, 89.
     12. Ibid, 90.
     13. Ibid.

In footnote 13 above, the cited material is also found on page 90.

  • Alphabatize a source with no named author in the bibliography by the title of the source
  • Use the first word after an article like  "a" or "the"

    Book
    Notes:
    Firefly Guide to Fossils,
    Bibliography: Firefly Guide to Fossils.

    Periodical
    Notes: "Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America,"
    Bibliography: "Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America."
Loading
[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]