Research Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style Citation Examples: Letters & Pamphlets

Letters

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.1.9, p. 185, 9th edition)

*When citing a letter that is part of a collection, cite the individual letter in the notes, and the whole collection in the bibliography.

NOTES

1. W. E. B. Du Bois to President Woodrow Wilson, November 1861, in W. E. B. Du Bois Papers, 1803-1999 (Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Libraries: Special Collections and University Archives), http://credo.library.umass.edu/view/full/mums312-b013-i174.
2. Du Bois to Wilson.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

NOTES

1. A.B. Stevens to Sarah Thompson, November 27, 1864, Sarah E. Thompson Papers, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University, Durham, NC, http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/scriptorium/thompson/1864-11-/1864-11-27.html.
2. Stevens to Thompson, November 27, 1864, Thompson Collection.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.1.9, p. 185, 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Abraham Lincoln to Winfield Scott, July 2, 1861, in Abraham Lincoln: Letters to His Generals, 1861-1865, ed. Brett F. Woods (New York: Algora Publishing, 2013), 29.
2. Lincoln to Scott, 29.

Pamphlets

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.7.3, p. 199, 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Elisabeth Hirschhorn Donahue, ed., Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs: Annual Report 2014-2015 (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, 2015) https://wws.princeton.edu/about-wws/wws-annual-report.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions