Research Guides: Historic Newspapers: African-American Newspapers

State newspapers

Library of Congress - Missouri
Digitized newspaper collection, 1800-1899
The Call
Microfilm available to view at B.D. Owens Library
African American Experience
State Historical Society of Missouri Collection
St. Louis Palladium
Available through B.D. Owens subscription to Newspapers.com
more...less...
As part of the library's subscription, users can create a personal account with Newspapers.com to save clippings, searches, and more
St. Louis Argus
Founded in 1912 and active until 2014, the St. Louis Argus is the oldest black newspaper and black owned business in Missouri.
New York Amsterdam News
The oldest Black newspaper in the country that offers the "New Black View" within local, national and international news for the Black community.
more...less...
1996-present

Library of Congress - National
Digitized newspaper collection, 1800-1899
Center for Research Libraries
Current Black/African American newspapers
Listing of all weekly and daily African American newspapers
AFROArchives
The AFRO-American Newspapers, one of the nation’s oldest news organizations dedicated to covering the African American community, has created a comprehensive collection of over a million articles that captures the African American experience in business, civil rights, education, health, law, and sports beginning in the late 19th century.
HathiTrust
Black/African American newspapers available through HathiTrust

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Search full-text news, legal, company and industry information. [ How to search ]
Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new window
Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com World Collection contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States including Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Iowa, and Illinois, England from 1648, and Canada.
To create an individual account and use the library's subscription: visit Newspapers.com and create an account. Once created, use the library link to access our subscription and sign in to your individual account to save clippings, pages, etc. [ How to search ]
Sign up for a personal account through the university's subscription to save articles, searches and more. Click the link above, and sign up using your university email address.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. & international newspapers and TV and radio transcripts. [ How to search ]

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions