Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's in this guide?
Federal Depository Library Program
- Links to titles of sources created to inform the public about the "workings and essential activities of the Federal Government."
- Examples of references and in text citations
- Helpful books and Web sites for references and in text citations
Ask a Librarian
- Ask for research help at Library Services Desk, by chat/text messaging, email, phone
- Schedule a 15-30 minute appointment related to your research or citations
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government
Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.
Budget of the United States Government
The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The CFDA lists all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Lists and describes federal publications (1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Code of Federal Regulations
This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
Congressional Record (daily)
The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary.
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.
Economic Report of the President
An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy including: population, economic, education, business, emergency preparedness, employment, families & living arrangements, health, housing, income & poverty, international trade, and the public sector.
Fdsys (Federal Digital System)
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Federal Register (daily)
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook
The resource for all Social Security questions.
United States Code
The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.
United States Government Manual
This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.
United States Reports
Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions.
United States Statutes at Large
The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.
Supreme Court of the United States
Search Supreme Court opinions, court orders, speeches, rules of the court, day calls, press releases, journals, argument transcripts, counsel listings, argument audio, hearing lists, questions presented, case documents, rules and guidelines and more.