Research Guides: *MUSIC RESEARCH*: Articles

Best Bets for Music articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Get full-text journals in all academic areas (articles typically added 3 to 5 years after publication). [ How to search ] [ How to use text analyzer ]
Music Periodicals (formerly IIMP) This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly full-text music journal articles (1874-present) in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz
Oxford Music Online (Limited to 3 simultaneous users) This link opens in a new window
(Includes Grove Music Online) Locate full-text information about composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, individual works, etc. [ How to search ]
Naxos Music Library (Limited to 10 simultaneous users) This link opens in a new window
Discover classical, jazz, and world music and create playlists. [ How to search ]
Naxos Music Library Jazz (Limited to 1 simultaneous user) This link opens in a new window
Listen to a wide range of jazz music. [ How to search ]
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Search International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Listen to MP3 recordings in Latin, Italian, German, and French

Education Source This link opens in a new window
View early childhood to higher education articles about learning and teaching methods, multilingual education, testing, policy and curriculum. [ How to search ] [ Browsing subject terms ]
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access this site you will need to set up a personal account. Follow the directions provided by NYT. Find news articles about music, musicians, and music performances.
New York Times inEducation This link opens in a new window
Resources Designed For Educators: From curated synopses that connect the news to specific areas of study, to exclusive content aggregated by keyword, the Times brings you resources the way you need them.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full-text scholarly articles covering multiple subjects. [ How to search ]
[ How to create an account ]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find books, abstracts, and linked articles in all subject areas. [ How to search ]

Scroll down and click Music
Can limit to peer reviewed journals only

Subjects covered: music genres & styles, opera, musical theater, arts & entertainment, music education & instruction, music history, musicology & ethnomusicology, classical music.

Visit the A-Z Database List to access other possible sources.

Get an article or a book
Get a pdf of any article or book chapter unavailable at B.D. Owens Library delivered to your Northwest email account.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions