Research Guides: C.R.A.P. Research: Research resources

Searching tips

Keyword searching using main library search bar

Enter your keyword search (with Boolean operators) into the main library search bar.

On the left side of the results page, select "Available in Library Collection" to limit results to full-text (and or peer reviewed) articles, books, ebooks, films, etc.

EBSCOhost Databases

Limit results to peer-reviewed and/or full-text in specific EBSCOhost databases (like Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost Ebook collection, etc.) by selecting "Full Text" and/or "Peer-reviewed" before performing your search

Gale: Opposing View Points

Limit results to full-text, peer-reviewed, as well as by source type by using the top and right filter options on results page.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full-text scholarly articles covering multiple subjects. [ How to search ]
[ How to create an account ]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find books, abstracts, and linked articles in all subject areas. [ How to search ]
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.
With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Search full-text news, legal, company and industry information. [ How to search ]
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Find full-text pro/con materials, viewpoints, articles, statistics, video, audio, and images. [ How to search ]
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Search by topic to locate overviews, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and guides to critical analysis. [ How to search ]
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine published by SAGE. [ User Guide ]
*PLEASE NOTE*
Terms must be accepted to view articles (located at top of page)
Cookie settings must be agreed to (located at bottom of page)

Sources to Avoid

Wikipedia
Encyclopedias
Webster's Dictionary
History.com

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions