Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*ECONOMICS RESEARCH*: Citing

Discover which source or database to use, how to find an article, book, ebook, or video, get citing examples, and help from a librarian with an assignment.

Business Citations

IMPORTANT NOTE: Citing Business Resources:

Although the APA provides clear instructions on how to cite standard publication types, some business-specific sources include unique information that is not addressed in APA instructions. Because of that, some of the examples and instructions on this page represent the B.D. Owens Library's interpretation of APA rules. The American Psychological Association maintains a Style Blog that addresses many frequently asked questions. 

If there is no official title, create a non-italicized description in square brackets (see section 9.22, page 292). The square brackets indicate to somebody else searching the database cannot use the exact words to search for the item, but can indicate how to locate similar information. 

For citing resources that are more standardized in business databases (Business Source Premier, Nexis Uni), please consult the Articles tab.

Market Research Report

REFERENCE (BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER)

    [ APA: Market Research Report ]

IN TEXT  

    ("Executive summary," 2009).

SWOT Analysis

REFERENCE (BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER)

  MarketLine. (2019, November 29). NIKE Inc [SWOT analysis]. Business Source Premier.

 

IN TEXT  

      (MarketLine, 2019). 

Online Industry Profile/Report

REFERENCE 

  MarketLine. (2019, May). Industry profile: Mobile phones in the United States. Business Source Premier.

IN TEXT  

      (MarketLine, 2019). 

NOTE: Include the database name if content only appears in a particular database.  Include the retrieval date if content changes over time and versions of the page are not archived.  Multiple citations to different works from the one author from the same year are distinguished by assigning a, b, c, to the citations in text and also in the reference list. This is entered after the date.

REFERENCE

MarketLine. (2020a, September). Marketline industry profile: Airlines in North America. MarketLine.

MarketLine. (2020b, September). MarketLine industry profile: Airlines in the United States. MarketLine.

IN TEXT  

    (MarketLine, 2020a).

    (MarketLine, 2020b).

Online Company Profile

(see p. 296 section 9.30 and p. 319 examples 13 and 14 of the 7th edition)

NOTE: Include the database name if content only appears in a particular database

REFERENCE  

    MarketLine. (2019, October 25). Cerner Corporation [Company profile]. Business Source Premier.

IN TEXT 

    (MarketLine, 2019).

(see p. 296 section 9.30 and p. 319 examples 13 and 14 of the 7th edition)

NOTE: Include the database name if content only appears in a particular databaseInclude the retrieval date if content changes over time and versions of the page are not archived.

REFERENCE  

    MarketLine. (2020, April 13). Walmart Inc [Company profile]. MarketLine Advantage. Retrieved June 10, 2020, from https://advantage.marketline.com/Company/Profile/wal_mart_stores_inc?companyprofile

IN TEXT 

    (MarketLine, 2020).

NOTE: Include the database name if content only appears in a particular database.  Include the retrieval date if content changes over time and versions of the page are not archived.

REFERENCE 

  Zoom Company Information. (2020, January 2). Starbucks Corporation [Company profile]. Nexis Uni. Retrieved February 3, 2020, from https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/c876bb8e-2b26-4db3-bb27-c1317259766c/?context=1516831  

IN TEXT  

(Zoom Company Information, 2020). 

SEC Filing

NOTE: Include the retrieval date if content changes over time and versions of the page are not archived.

REFERENCE (Lexisnexis)

Walmart Inc. (2020, October 2). Form 8-K [SEC Filings]. Nexis Uni. Retrieved October 6, 2020. 

IN TEXT  

    (Walmart Inc., 2020).

APA-Can't find what you're looking for?

[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]