Research Guides: *HISTORY/HUMANITIES RESEARCH*: Books/eBooks

Search for books

On the library's homepage, click Books & media

Enter the title or topic of the item you want to locate.
Use Advanced Search to limit to a specific library location (Juvenile collection, Popular, New Books), language, date.

[ search of libcat ]

Search for items held behind the Library Services Desk on Course Reserves.

[ Mobius Logo ]

MOBIUS Catalog
Search collections in Missouri, Colorado, and Oklahoma libraries
MOBIUS Help Center
Basic and advanced search options: keyword using AND, OR, NOT, title, author, phrase searches and wildcards.

[ WorldCat ]

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

WorldCat Help Center
Searching, refining, saving

Maryville Public Library Catalog
Northwest Missouri State University current students, staff, and faculty who live within the City of Maryville taxing district can obtain a full access Maryville Public Library (MPL) card. Current Northwest students, faculty and staff living outside of the taxing district (including those living on campus) can sign up at MPL for a 5-item limited use Maryville Public Library card, which includes access to the following databases:
more...less...
NovelList Plus (reading suggestions)
Pronunciator Language Learning
Global Road Warrior (geography)
Capstone Interactive (children's eBooks)
TumbleBooks
NOTE: If you don't live within the taxing district but wish to purchase full access, the annual fee is over $68 per year per household.

Questions? Contact Maryville Public Library

Interlibrary Loan

Get an article or a book
Get a pdf of any article or book chapter unavailable at B.D. Owens Library delivered to your Northwest email account. Note: When asked for your ID and campus code, enter your 919# immediately followed by NW (example: 919123456nw).

Browse books on the shelf with Dewey call numbers

030 - Encyclopedias and books of facts
090 - Manuscripts and rare books
100 - Philosophy
120 - Epistemology
140 - Philosophical schools of thought
160 - Philosophical logic
170 - Ethics
180 - Ancient, medieval and eastern philosophy
190 - Modern western philosophy
200 - Religion
900 - History
- 901 - Philosophy and theory of history
- 902 - Miscellany of history
- 903 - Dictionaries and encyclopedias
- 904 - Collected accounts of events
- 905 - Serial publications of history
- 906 - Organizations and management
- 907 - Education, research and related topics
- 908 - Groups of people
- 909 - World history
930 - History of ancient world to ca. 499
940 - History of Europe
950 - History of Asia
960 - History of Africa
970 - History of North America
980 - History of South America
990 - History of other areas

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Comprehensive eBook collection of over 118,000 titles includes digital, full-text versions of academic books from science, education and technology to the humanities and social sciences, literature and fiction. Many (but not all) permit multiple, simultaneous users.

Create your account

How can I link to eBooks or eBook chapters

Checking out and downloading an eBook

More book options

Google Books allows users to search the full text of books for keywords and phrases, displaying search terms in context.
Public domain books are available for full text viewing and downloading.
Limited Preview titles allow the user to view a limited number of preview pages (with search terms highlighted in context).
Snippet View allows the user to view book publication information and only enough text to see search terms in context.
Find This Book in a Library feature allows users can link to a WorldCat search window where a list of the closest libraries to the user that hold the book are displayed.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
"Project Gutenberg promotes digitization in “text format”, meaning that a book can be copied, indexed, searched, analyzed and compared with other books. Contrary to other formats, the files are accessible for low-bandwidth use.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions