Research Guides: African American Resources: Locating books

Subject headings

Find books using "subject headings," tags assigned to books that describe the topic. For example:

African American leadership	United States Race relations
African American authors	African Americans History
African Americans Social conditions	African Americans Economic conditions
African Americans Mental Health	Racism United States
African Americans Juvenile Literature	African Americans Juvenile Fiction

Search for books

On the library's homepage, click Books & media

Enter the title or topic of the item you want to locate.
Use Advanced Search to limit to a specific library location (Juvenile collection, Popular, New Books), language, date.

[ search of libcat ]

Search for items held behind the Library Services Desk on Course Reserves.

[ Mobius Logo ]

MOBIUS Catalog
Search collections in Missouri, Colorado, and Oklahoma libraries
MOBIUS Help Center
Basic and advanced search options: keyword using AND, OR, NOT, title, author, phrase searches and wildcards.

[ WorldCat ]

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

WorldCat Help Center
Searching, refining, saving

Maryville Public Library Catalog
Northwest Missouri State University current students, staff, and faculty who live within the City of Maryville taxing district can obtain a full access Maryville Public Library (MPL) card. Current Northwest students, faculty and staff living outside of the taxing district (including those living on campus) can sign up at MPL for a 5-item limited use Maryville Public Library card, which includes access to the following databases:
more...less...
NovelList Plus (reading suggestions)
Pronunciator Language Learning
Global Road Warrior (geography)
Capstone Interactive (children's eBooks)
TumbleBooks
NOTE: If you don't live within the taxing district but wish to purchase full access, the annual fee is over $68 per year per household.

Questions? Contact Maryville Public Library

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Comprehensive eBook collection of over 118,000 titles includes digital, full-text versions of academic books from science, education and technology to the humanities and social sciences, literature and fiction. Many (but not all) permit multiple, simultaneous users.

Create your account

How can I link to eBooks or eBook chapters

Checking out and downloading an eBook

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions