Research Guides: Comp II 10112-80 Bond: Articles

Where to look for Articles

Once you have your topic picked out, you can begin working on your research. This section has some different databases for you to start your search, there are tabs for articles, newspapers and magazines. If you do not see a database that you think will be useful to you, please look through other available options on the A-Z databases page. The databases page will also allow you to sort by subject areas.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full-text scholarly articles covering multiple subjects. [ How to search ]
[ How to create an account ]
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Find comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news about American government, politics, public policy, health, education, criminal justice, the economy, the environment, technology, social trends, and international affairs. [How to search]
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Find full-text pro/con materials, viewpoints, articles, statistics, video, audio, and images. [ How to search ]
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Search by topic to locate overviews, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and guides to critical analysis. [ How to search ]
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search international full-text journals, books, and other published sources on all aspects of the humanities. [ How to search ]
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Locate listings for journal articles, books and dissertations in the literature and writing areas. [ How to search ]

LexisNexis (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Search full-text news, legal, company and industry information. [ How to search ]
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access this site you will need to set up a personal account. Follow the directions provided by NYT. [ How to set up your account ]
Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new window
Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com World Collection contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States including Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Iowa, and Illinois, England from 1648, and Canada.
To create an individual account and use the library's subscription: visit Newspapers.com and create an account. Once created, use the library link to access our subscription and sign in to your individual account to save clippings, pages, etc. [ How to search ]
Sign up for a personal account through the university's subscription to save articles, searches and more. Click the link above, and sign up using your university email address.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. & international newspapers and TV and radio transcripts. [ How to search ]
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes business journals, newspapers and newswires pertaining to all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full-text scholarly articles covering multiple subjects. [ How to search ]
[ How to create an account ]
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Find full-text pro/con materials, viewpoints, articles, statistics, video, audio, and images. [ How to search ]
National Geographic Magazine 1888- Current This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.
Libby app (OverDrive) This link opens in a new window
OverDrive, Inc. is a worldwide digital distributor of eBooks, audiobooks, online magazines, available through the Libby app. Through Libby, patrons can:
• Browse your library’s digital catalog of eBooks — from classics to NYT best-sellers
• Borrow and enjoy eBooks and audiobooks
• Download titles for offline reading, or stream them to save space
To access:
- Download the Libby app on your mobile device
- Select “Add New Library” and type in Northwest Missouri State University
  - MOBIUS Consortium should appear, select this
- To add the card to you Libby account, you will need to sign into your NW Missouri account through the library's authenticator
- Once signed in, the digital library card will be activated
Happy reading, Bearcats!

How do I know if an article has been peer-reviewed?

Click journals/publications in the Search everything box on the library's homepage.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions