Research Guides: *CRIMINOLOGY RESEARCH*: Articles

Academic Search Complete

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals contains a criminology & criminal justice collection and collections for other allied disciplines like law, interpersonal violence, psychology & counseling, sociology, public administration, urban studies & planning.
PsycArticles (APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. [ How to search ] [ Browsing subject terms ]
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a small criminology & criminal justice collection and a diverse, deep variety of collections for allied disciplines like law, political science, psychology, public policy & administration, sociology, and urban studies. JSTOR's weakness is a lack of current journal literature in any subject area.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic contains a law review search, a state & federal court opinion search, and a state and federal code search in addition to an extensive news article search.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find books, abstracts, and linked articles in all subject areas. [ How to search ]

Get an article or a book
Get a pdf of any article or book chapter unavailable at B.D. Owens Library delivered to your Northwest email account. Note: When asked for your ID and campus code, enter your 919# immediately followed by NW (example: 919123456nw).

[ research graphic ]

Credit: Acupuncture Council of Ireland

Original, primary research article sections:

Title & Author Information: briefly summarizes the subject or purpose of the article & documents the author's credentials in the field of study

Review of Literature: summarizes previous research that relates significantly to the research study/hypothesis.

Methodology: describes what kind(s) of research methods were used and how the study was constructed/implemented

Findings/Results: collates and summarizes the data collected and calculates totals or trends, statistically significant findings, etc.

Conclusions/Discussion: discusses applications or implications of the findings/results

Further Study: suggests areas where more complete data or findings are needed and related areas for future research

Works Cited/References: lists the sources cited by the author(s) of the article

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions