The Library of Congress National Digital Library has created this resource offering links to primary and archival materials relating to American culture and history.
American Studies at the University of Virginia
The American Studies department at the University of Virginia has created this comprehensive Web site that includes links related to ethnicity, gender, literature, philosophy, religion, popular culture, regional studies, social sciences and science and technology.
Archives of the West
This PBS site includes "a selection of the memoirs, journals, letters, reports and images that went into the making of THE WEST."
A Chronology of US Historical Documents
This site is maintained by the University of Oklahoma College of Law. It includes digitized copies of historical documents from United States history sorted by time period.
Emory Women Writers Resource Project
"The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the seventeenth century through the nineteenth century."
The Exhibit Hall
The Exhibit Hall, at the National Archives and Records Administration, includes links to digital copies of the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Magna Carta, Emancipation Proclamation, Apollo 11 Flight Plan, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, and more.
Guide to Law Online
"The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information."
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"In 1995, the History Department and Hanover students initiated the Hanover Historical Texts Project. The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses."
Library of Congress Photostream On Flickr
Flickr are the photo-sharing social-networking website. They "help people to make their content available to the people and enable new ways of organizing photos and videos."
Making of America
"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Massachusetts Historical Society
"As part of its mission to communicate and share its collections, the MassachusettsHistorical Society makes selected manuscripts and artifacts available foronline viewing. Use this guide to begin exploring ... digital archives, onlinecurriculum, and web exhibitions." This site includes electronic archivesof the Adams and Jefferson papers.
National Security Archive
"An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more."
Presidential inaugural addresses, autobiographies's, first-hand accounts describing events and society at specific time periods, presidential debates, and pamphlets are available at this site.
Papers of George Washington
This site at the University of Virginia contains links to electronic reproductions of selections from George Washington's papers, online exhibits, and articles about Washington's papers.
The Plymouth Colony Archive Project at the University of Virginia
This site "presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles of selected colonists; and architectural, archaeological and material culture studies."
This list provides links to the ten presidential libraries, as well as to two materials library for former President Nixon and Clinton. Several of the libraries provide links to the full-text of some primary documents.
This Library of Congress Web site includes information chronicling Thomas Jefferson's life including digitized copies of some primary sources.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
This site provides an introduction to the museum in Washington, DC, suggestions for Holocaust educational programs, guidelines for teaching about the subject, links to archives and information on Holocaust organizations and historical sites.
Valley of the Shadow
"The Valley Project details life in two American communities, one Northernand one Southern, from the time of John Brown's raid, through the era ofReconstruction."
Victorian Women Writers Project (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, letters, short stories)
"The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century."
This site includes digital copies of primary sources relating to the history of Jamestown and Virginia.
Virtual Vietnam Archive
"The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials. Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids."
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
"The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents is published every Monday and is the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary."