(4 hour loan) This book compares favorably with Brockett's History of the Theatre as an introduction to most time periods and geographic regions for Theatre Appreciation topics. It also covers some Asian theater traditions - Japan and China. It is ideal for linking cultural influences of art and society to prevalent theatrical conventions in a country and time period. For every style of theater discussed, this books details the circumstances of the performance - who performed it, where it was performed, and for what audience. In each chapter there is a timeline with overlapping historical events, artistic events (outside of theater), and theater history events. Each chapter contains a section discussing art ideas and social ideas common to that country and time period related to theater. Each chapter contains a section called Connections that explains how the theater discussed in that chapter influenced later styles of theater. There is also a Sources for Further Study list at the end of each chapter - enter a title in the library homepage search box to locate the source you want.
(2 hour loan) This book is designed to answer the question, "How would I put on a play set in a particular time period and using a specific performance style in Western theater?" More work is required to match each chapter with a Theatre Appreciation topic. For instance, it has a chapter on Classic Baroque style which would require you to know that baroque arts were produced in 17th century (1600-1700) Western Europe primarily. Each chapter contains sections on Art and Culture, Life and Cultural Ideals (daily life and customs), Costume and Accessories (costume), Manners and Movement as well as Acting the Plays (acting technique), The Theatre (stage design and scenery), and The Plays (plays and dramatists) for that period. Good for linking social and artistic concepts of the time to theater performance and for the overall performance practice of the day (acting, costumes, stage design, scenery, and acting).
(4 hour loan) This book contains chapters about Greek and Roman theatre, Medieval theatre, Elizabethan theatre, Seventeenth Century French theatre, Restoration and Eighteenth Century English theatre, Nineteenth Century European theatre, and Twentieth Century European and American Theatre. Each chapter has a representative play for that time period and geographic area, Condition of Performance (acting, stage design, scenery, costumes, acting, playwriting, special effects, and the audience attending the plays), and Dramatic Conventions pertaining to plot and characters common to plays of that time period and geographic area.
This text covers ancient Greece and Rome, medieval theatre, the Italian renaissance, Spanish renaissance, English from the medieval period through the renaissance, French theatre 1552-1789, restoration theatre (1660-1705), eighteenth century theatre, nineteenth century theatre and twentieth century theatre. It includes a heavy concentration on the theatre traditions of Great Britain and the United States. It also examines theatrical traditions of Ireland, Italy, France, Germany, Northern Europe (Sweden and the Netherlands), Russia, China, Japan, India, and Indonesia. Most chapters include a section on history, stages, scenic design, acting, costumes, and dramatists (and other theatrical personalities).
This text is arranged according to time period and paradigms that characterize the stage of each time period - Greek theatre (534 b.c. - a.d. 476), Roman theatre (240 b.c. - a.d. 476), Latin music-drama (965-1250), theatre of the middle ages (1250-1600), Italian renaissance (1350-1650), neoclassical and baroque theatre (1650-1750), theatre of the enlightenment (1750-1800), theatre of the romantic age (1800-1850), realistic theatre (1850-present), theatres in reaction (1890-1960). This volume excels in showing illustrations of theatre architecture, stage designs, costumes, actors performing. It also provides timetables showing prominent dramatists, actors, playhouses, and other aspects of theatre in a particular time period. It focuses on European and American theatre primarily.
Use these sources to define terms and concepts used in the drama and theatre disciplines. Consult encyclopedias at the beginning of a research project to obtain a concise overview of a concept, school of thought, or a particular person's contribution to the dramatic and theatre arts.
This set covers architecture, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and the visual arts from the era of ancient Egypt through the baroque period and the age of enlightenment in Europe. Western Europe is the main focus of much of this reference work. Each volume includes a chronology of events for each discipline, an overview of each discipline for the time period covered, topics that hightlight the most important aspects of each discipline, biographies of significant persons in each discipline, and documentary sources (primary sources) for each discipline. This set is illustrated with black and white photographs.
Note: this set is also available as an ebook @ http://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=nwmosu_owens&v=2.1&it=aboutBook&id=GALE%7C9780787693848&sid=bookmark-GVRL
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres. Each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, providing contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilization examine key periods and aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
The intention of this guide is "offer a comprehensive view of the history and present practice of the theatre in all parts of the world..." Their second aim is to "celebrate the vitality and importance of popular theatre and popular entertainment.." Includes articles on national theatres which attempt to cover theatre traditions in that country or region from the classical and medieval eras onward. Articles also present aspects of theatre such as costume, stage lighting, actors, directors, and play authors.
This encyclopedia attempts to show how ordinary people in various time periods and cultures went about the business and pleasure of their daily lives. Each volume is arranged thematically, containing a section for historical overview, domestic life, economic life, intellectual life, material life, political life, recreational life (including theater), and religious life. The time periods covered are as follows: 1. The ancient world -- 2. The medieval world -- 3. 15th and 16th centuries -- 4. 17th and 18th centuries -- 5. 19th century -- 6. The modern world. for a more in-depth look at specific cultures and time periods, Greenwood Press also publishes a series of related book under the series title - Greenwood Press "Daily Life Through History" Series.
The Oxford Encyclopedia "treats most aspects of theatre and performance over time and on a worldwide scale". This encyclopedia is particularly strong in covering performance related issues of theatre and biographies of persons associated with theatre. Theatre traditions of cities and regions are emphasized over generalized articles on national theatres. This work is also particularly strong in covering international theatre and concerns of non-Western concepts and issues.
The aim of this set is to sketch out the political and social context of each nation and then to comparatively explore every country's theatrical history since 1945. Countries from Africa, the Arab world, Asia and Oceania, the Americas and Europe are covered in this exhaustive treatment of contemporary international theatre.
Use the following books to begin research on the development of theatrical performance over time. The history of European theatre traditions is especially well covered. Also use the Background Information books to find more information on history of theatre traditions.
This work is regarded as one of the best one-volume histories of world theatre. Emphasis is given to the European theatre. Excellent coverage is given to Greek, Roman, and renaissance theatres. Performance practice, architecture, and theatrical conditions are considered for each time period and genre.
This work focuses on the history of western theatre from the classical Greece and Rome through 1970. Chapters on the theatre of Africa, South America, and various regions of Asia are also included. As the title implies, copious illustrations of performances, stage design, and theatre architecture are provided.
Sheldon Cheney has attempted to provide a sweeping overview of theatre performance practice and theater construction and layout from antiquity to the modern period just before World War II. As the title implies, the mechanics of theatre are stressed as much as the conceptual aspects of play authors and the influence of related arts.