Research Guides: *MANAGEMENT RESEARCH*: Company &amp; Industry Informational Databases

All databases listed provide information about companies and industries with examples and video tutorials on how to complete a search.

The best bet database is Marketline. The information found in Marketline is up-to-date of when the company publishes reports, news, and more. All other databases contain similar information plus other business articles unrelated to companies. Marketline and Business Source Premier are best bets for topics related to company profiles, SWOT, leadership, organization, financial data, integrity, strategic issues, and opportunity/change.

Company & Industry Information

Marketline This link opens in a new window
Intelligence reports and analysis for companies, industries, countries, and cities. Includes analytics, real-time news, analyst opinion, and information on financial deals. [ How to search ]
Video tutorial

Search and Browse

Type keyword(s) in the search bar and click search
- Another option is to search by sector, company, geography, and more
Use filters to narrow results by keywords, sector, geography, content type and publication date
Narrow by type by selecting View all Industry Profiles, View all Thematic Analysis, etc.
View the report online or download as a PDF or Word document
Video tutorial

Search for Companies

Click on the Companies tab at the top of the screen
Use filters to narrow results
Benchmark companies by adding a check mark by the company's information
Click on a specific company to view an overview, profile, financials, news, and more
View the company's information online or download as a PDF or Word document
Video tutorial

Search for Industry

Select Browse by Database

[ Marketline industry research start ]

Select Industry Data
- Use the filters to narrow results
- Download the full report as an Excel file

[ Marketline download Industry Data report ]

Select Industry Statistics
- Choose the Values, Volumes, or Segmentation dashboard
- Information from the Industry Data option is represented as visuals
- Narrow by industry, region, or geography
- Download the visuals as an image, PDF, or PowerPoint

[ Marketline Values search and download ]

Video tutorial

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Get many full-text journals in marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes full text market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. [ How to search ]

Browse lists for Company Profiles and Industry Reports.

Click Company Profiles
Enter company name
Click the MarketLine Report (pdf)

In the first search box enter the type of industry (ex: wireless communication).
In the second search box enter industry report AND marketline.
In the tird search box enter location (ex: United States, China, Worldwide).
Check the dates of the results to verify you are using the most recent report.

Suggested keyword searches

Topic	Keyword searches
Company Profile/SWOT	[Company Name] and SWOT [Company Name] and "company profile"
Leadership	"chief executive officers" and [Company Name] "corporate governance" and [Company Name]
Integrity	"business ethics" and executives corrupt* and [COMPANY NAME] "social responsibility of business" or "corporate social responsibility"
Strategic issues	"strategic planning" "marketing strategy" "business planning"
Organization	employees--attitudes "organizational change"

Statista This link opens in a new window
With statistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources, it’s important that you can keep track. Whether you’re looking for data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations, our source database ensures that you’ll find what you’re looking for quickly and easily. At Statista, we guarantee transparency and adherence to academic standards; this is why we disclose all of our sources. [ How to search ]

Browse the Reports option for information on industries, companies, products, countries, customers, and more.

Hover over Reports and select one of the options
Enter your search in the search box.
Narrow the seach results using the filers on the left side of the screen
To read the full report you will need to download the report. Choose an a format option in the drop down box.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Search full-text news, legal, company and industry information. [ How to search ]

Browse for Company Information

Click on Menu at the top of the screen and select Company Dossier.
By default, Company name is the option for the search box.
Type in the company's name and click search.
The top three companies will appear. If your company is not there, click the View All Button.
Click on the name of the company to view Company Information, Financial Overview, News, etc.
Click Generate Report on the right side of the screen and choose the sections to download available information as a report.

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine published by SAGE. [ User Guide ]
*PLEASE NOTE*
Terms must be accepted to view articles (located at top of page)
Cookie settings must be agreed to (located at bottom of page)
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full-text scholarly articles covering multiple subjects. [ How to search ]
[ How to create an account ]
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles covering health & life sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences. [ How to search ]
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes business journals, newspapers and newswires pertaining to all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions