Research Guides: Historian's Craft &amp; Uses (33-301): Citing

Turabian-Can't find what you're looking for?

Books

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 171-187 in the 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Norman F. Cantor, Medieval History: The Life and Death of a Civilization, 2nd ed. (New York: Macmillan, 1969), 152-54.
2. Cantor, Medieval History, 157.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

Faigley, Lester, Diana George, Anna Palchik, and Cynthia Selfe. Picturing Texts. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.

NOTES

1. Lester Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, (New York: W.W. Norton, 2004), 45.
2. Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, 48.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO EDITORS)

(For more examples look on page 172 in the 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Nathan Rosenstein and Robert Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, (Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010), 70-72.
2. Rosenstein and Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, 77.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR, MULTIPLE EDITORS)

Pearsall, Sarah M. S. “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution.” In Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, edited by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, 57-70. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015.

NOTES

1. Sarah M. S. Pearsall, “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution,” in Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, eds. Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015), 58.
2. Pearsall, 60.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (MORE THAN FOUR EDITORS)

Sleeper-Smith, Susan, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, eds. Why You Can't Teach United
States History Without American Indians. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015.

NOTES

1. Sleeper-Smith et al., xi-xii.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 183 in the 9th edition)

[ Example ]

NOTES

1. Phyllis Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” in The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic, ed. Harriet I. Flower (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 127-48.
2. Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” 130.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 178 in the 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Joyce E. Salisbury, ed., vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present, (Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004), 380.
2. Salisbury, The Medieval World, vol. 2, 381.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (Separate editor of each volume, Separate title of each volume)

Salisbury, Joyce E., ed. The Medieval World. Vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present. Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.

* Please Note: Each volume of the multivolume set The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life has a separate editor and volume title. 1. The ancient world / Gregory S. Aldrete, volume editor -- 2. The medieval world / Joyce E. Salisbury, volume editor -- 3. 15th and 16th centuries / Lawrence Morris, volume editor -- 4. 17th and 18th centuries / Peter Seelig, volume editor -- 5. 19th century / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor -- 6. The modern world / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (Same editor of each volume)

Bedini, Silvio A., ed. The Christopher Columbus Encyclopedia. Vol. 2. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO AUTHORS)

(For more examples look on page 186 in the 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Isaiah Berlin and Henry Hardy, The Soviet Mind: Russian Culture under Communism (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press, 2004), 56-58, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=nlebk&AN=112216&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=074-800.
2. Berlin and Hardy, The Soviet Mind, 59.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (App/Device Example)

Issacon, Walter. Leonardo da Vinci. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017. Kindle

NOTES (Chapter When Fixed Page Numbers Not Given)

1. Walter Issacson, Leonardo da Vinci, (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017), chap. 33. sec. 1. Kindle.
2. Issacson, Leonardo da Vinci, chap. 33, sec. 3.

Well Known Reference Book
(For more examples look on page 204 in the 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Example ]

NOTES

1. Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. “Daedalus.”
2. Oxford Classical Dictionary, “Daedalus.”

Less Well Known Reference Book

BIBLIOGRAPHY

David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., New York: Facts on File, 1995.

NOTES

1. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., (New York: Facts on File, 1995), 15.
2. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, 16.

Entry in a Well Known Multi-Volume Reference Work

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Turabian Citation Guide For Entry in a Well Known Multivolume Reference Work ]

NOTES

1. J. A. Leo Lemay, “Benjamin Franklin,” in American National Biography, vol. 8., eds. John A. Garraty and Marc C. Carnes, (New York: Oxford University Press, 1999), 199.
2. “Benjamin Franklin,” in American National Biography, vol. 8., 200.

NOTES
(For more examples look on page 202 in the 9th edition)

1. Polybius, Histories 1.6.4.
2. Polyb, 1.6.5

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(17.7.1, p. 198, 9th edition)

[ Example ]

NOTES

1. Mark Arvid Warburton, “’For the Purposes of Example and Justice’: Native American Incarceration in the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1803-1849,” (PhD. diss, University of Iowa, 2011), 67.
2. Warburton, 78.

Examples

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.5.1, p. 194, 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Benjamin Franklin, “A Modest Enquiry into the Nature and Necessity of Paper Currency,” American History from Revolution to Reconstruction and Beyond, accessed March 12, 2011, http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/documents/1701-1750/benjamin-franklin-a-modest-enquiry-into-the-nature-and-necessity-of-paper-currency.php.
2. Franklin, “A Modest Enquiry.”

*Classical Authors are from ancient Greece and Rome primarily
BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.8.1, p. 202 , 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Tacitus, “The End of the Republic,” Ancient History Sourcebook, accessed July 12, 2016, http://legacy.fordham.edu/Halsall/ancient/tacitus-ann1a.asp.
2. Tacitus, “The End of the Republic.”

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.5.1, p. 194, 9th edition)

NOTES

1. “George B. McClellan- 1864 Election Broadside,” American Battlefield Trust, accessed March 3, 2018, https://www.battlefields.org/learn/primary-sources/george-b-mcclellan-1864-election-broadside.
2. “George B. McClellan."

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(Section 17.2., p. 187, 9th edition)

NOTES (ONE AUTHOR)

Format:

1. First Name [Middle Initial.] Last Name, "Article Title," Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): page number, URL/DOI.
2. Last Name, "Article Title," page number.

Example:

1. Gerda Lerner, "The Grimke Sisters and the Struggle against Race Prejudice," The Journal of Negro History 48, no. 4 (October 1993): 278, https://doi.org/10.2307.2716330.
2. Lerner, “The Grimke Sisters,” 290.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO AUTHORS)

Format:

Last name, First name [Middle Initial.], and First name Last name. "Article Title." Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication
date): page range. URL/DOI.

Example:

Kovan, Seth, and Sonya Michel. "Womanly Duties: Maternalist Politics and Origins of Welfare States in France, Germany, Great Britain, and the United States." American Historical Review 95, no. 4 (October 1990): 1076-1108. https://doi.org/10.2307/2163479.

NOTES (TWO AUTHORS)

Format:

1. First name [Middle Initial.] Last name and First name Last name, "Article Title," Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): number, URL/DOI.
2. Last name and Last name, "Article title," page number.

Example:

1. Seth Koven and Sonya Michel, "Womanly Duties: Maternalist Politics and Origins of Welfare States in France, Germany, Great Britain, and the United States," American Historical Review 95, no. 4 (October 1990): 1079, http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/2163479.
2. Koven and Michel, "Womanly Duties," 1077.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (THREE AUTHORS)

Format:

Last name, First name [Middle Initial.], First name [Middle Initial.] Last name, and First name [Middle Initial.] Last name. "Article
Title." Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): page range. URL/DOI.

Example:

Reddick, Christopher G., Akemi Takeokaand Chatfield, and Patricia A. Jaramillo. " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs: A Multi-method Approach." Government Information Quarterly 32, no. 2 (April 2015): 129-141. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2015.01.003.

NOTES (THREE AUTHORS)

Format:

1. First name [Middle Initial.] Last name, First name [Middle Initial.] Last name, and First name [Middle initial.] Last name, "Article Title," Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): number, URL/DOI.
2. Last name, Last name, and Last name, "Article title," page number.

Example:

1. Christopher G. Reddick, Akemi Takeokaand Chatfield, and Patricia A. Jaramillo, " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs: A Multi-method Approach," Government Information Quarterly 32, no. 2 (April 2015), 130, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2015.01.003.
2. Reddick, Chatfield, Jaramillo, " Public Opinion on National Security Agency Surveillance Programs," 141.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

*Up to ten authors/editors should be included in the bibliography. For sources with more than ten authors/editors, include the first seven authors in the bibliography, followed by et al

Format:

Last name, First name [Middle Initial.], First name [Middle Initial.] Last name, First name [Middle Initial.] Last name, and First name
[Middle Initial.] Last name. "Article Title." Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): page range. URL/DOI.

Example:

Bovenschen, Silvia, Jeannine Blackwell, Johanna Moore, and Beth Weckmueller. “The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth: The Witch, Subject of the Appropriation of Nature and Object of the Domination of Nature.” New German Critique no. 15, 1978: 83-119. https://doi.org/10.2307/487908.

NOTES (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

*For sources with more than three authors, include the lead author in the note, followed by et al

Format:

1. First name [Middle Initial.] Last name et al., "Article Title," Publication title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): number, URL/DOI.
2. Last name et al., "Article title," page number.

Example:

1. Silvia Bovenschen et al., "The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth: The Witch, Subject of the Appropriation of Nature and Object of the Domination of Nature," New German Critique no. 15 (1978): 110, https://doi.org/ 10.2307/487908.
2. Bovenschen et al., "The Contemporary Witch, the Historical Witch and the Witch Myth," 85.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

NOTES

1. Jon Lawrence, "Forging a Peaceable Kingdom: War, Violence, and Fear of Brutalization in Post-World War Britain," The Journal of Modern History 75, no. 3 (September 2003): 558.
2. Lawrence, “Forging a Peaceable Kingdom,” 290.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions