Skip to main content

Turabian Style Citation Examples: Books/eBooks

Find how to cite a web page, journal, book, eBook, textbook, magazine, newspaper, video, DVD, TV show, Twitter, or Instagram. Find how to format in-text/parenthetical citations, foot/endnotes, and how to cite when no author or date.

Books

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)   

(For more examples look on pages 171-187 in the 9th edition)

[ Turabian citation example for Book ]    

 

NOTES

      1. Norman F. Cantor, Medieval History: The Life and Death of a Civilization, 2nd ed. (New York: Macmillan, 1969), 152-54.
      2. Cantor, Medieval History, 157.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS)

Faigley, Lester, Diana George, Anna Palchik, and Cynthia Selfe. Picturing Texts. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004

  NOTES

      1. Lester Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, (New York: W.W. Norton, 2004), 45.
      2. Faigley et al., Picturing Texts, 48.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO EDITORS)

(For more examples look on page 172 in the 9th edition)

       [ Example ]

 

  NOTES

      1. Nathan Rosenstein and Robert Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, (Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010), 70-72.
      2. Rosenstein and Morstein-Marx, eds, A Companion to the Roman Republic, 77.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR, MULTIPLE EDITORS)

Pearsall, Sarah M. S. “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution.” In Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, edited by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, 57-70. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015. 

NOTES

      1. Sarah M. S. Pearsall, “Recentering Indian Women in the American Revolution,” in Why You Can't Teach United States History without American Indians, eds. Susan Sleeper-Smith, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015), 58.
      2. Pearsall, 60.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

BIBLIOGRAPHY (MORE THAN FOUR EDITORS)

Sleeper-Smith, Susan, Juliana Barr, Jean M. O'Brien, Nancy Shoemaker, and Scott Manning Stevens, eds. Why You Can't Teach United
               States History Without American Indians. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015. 

NOTES 

      1. Sleeper-Smith et al., xi-xii.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 183 in the 9th edition)

[ Example ]

 

NOTES

      1. Phyllis Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” in The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic, ed. Harriet I. Flower (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 127-48.
      2. Culham, “Women in the Roman Republic,” 130.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(For more examples look on pages 178 in the 9th edition)

[ Turabian Citation for Multivolume Book ]

NOTES

      1. Joyce E. Salisbury, ed., vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present, (Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004), 380.
      2. Salisbury, The Medieval World, vol. 2, 381.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (Separate editor of each volume, Separate title of each volume)

Salisbury, Joyce E., ed. The Medieval World. Vol. 2, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present. Westport CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.

   * Please Note: Each volume of the multivolume set The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life has a separate editor and volume title. 1. The ancient world / Gregory S. Aldrete, volume editor -- 2. The medieval world / Joyce E. Salisbury, volume editor -- 3. 15th and 16th centuries / Lawrence Morris, volume editor -- 4. 17th and 18th centuries / Peter Seelig, volume editor -- 5. 19th century / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor -- 6. The modern world / Andrew E. Kersten, volume editor.


BIBLIOGRAPHY (Same editor of each volume)

Bedini, Silvio A., ed. The Christopher Columbus Encyclopedia. Vol. 2. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (TWO AUTHORS)   

(For more examples look on page 186 in the 9th edition)

[ Turabian Citation Example for EBook ]

 

NOTES 

      1. Isaiah Berlin and Henry Hardy. The Soviet Mind: Russian Culture under Communism (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press, 2004), 56-58, http://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid&db=nlebk&AN=112216&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
      2. Berlin and Hardy, The Soviet Mind, 59.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (App/Device Example)

Issacon, Walter. Leonardo da Vinci. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017. Kindle

    NOTES (Chapter When Fixed Page Numbers Not Given)

     1. Walter Issacson, Leonardo da Vinci, (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017), chap. 33. sec. 1. Kindle.
      2. Issacson, Leonardo da Vinci, chap. 33, sec. 3.

Well Known Reference Book
(For more examples look on page 204 in the 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Example ]

NOTES

       1. Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. “Daedalus.
       2. Oxford Classical Dictionary, “Daedalus.

Less Well Known Reference Book

BIBLIOGRAPHY

David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., New York: Facts on File, 1995.

NOTES 

       1. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed., (New York: Facts on File, 1995), 15. 
        2. David Sacks, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, 16.

 

Entry in a Well Known Multi-Volume Reference Work

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Turabian Citation Guide For Entry in a Well Known Multivolume Reference Work ]

NOTES 

       1. J. A. Leo Lemay, “Benjamin Franklin,”  in American National Biography, vol. 8.,  eds. John A. Garraty and Marc C. Carnes, (New York: Oxford University Press, 1999), 199. 
     2. Benjamin Franklin,”  in American National Biography, vol. 8., 200.

NOTES
(For more examples look on page 202 in the 9th edition)

       1. Polybius, Histories 1.6.4.
      2. Polyb, 1.6.5

BIBLIOGRAPHY (ONE AUTHOR)

(17.7.1, p. 198, 9th edition)

[ Example ]

 NOTES

      1. Mark Arvid Warburton, “’For the Purposes of Example and Justice’: Native American Incarceration in the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1803-1849,” (PhD. diss, University of Iowa, 2011), 67.
      2. Warburton, 78.

Loading ...
[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]