Research Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style Citation Examples: Gov't/legal

Government publication

Federal

Reports and Documents

(Section 17.11.2.2, p. 215, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Turabian Citation Example for a Government Publication ]

NOTES

1. Energy and Commerce Committee, Employee Health Care Protection Act of 2013, 113th Cong., 2nd sess., 2014, HR Rep. 113-580, pt. 1, 1-7.
2. Energy and Commerce Committee, Employee Health Care Protection Act, 60.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

US Constitution and Amendments

(Section 17.11.5, p. 218, 9th edition)
*The US Constitution does not need to be included in the bibliography, and should be cited only in notes

Notes

1. US Constitution, art. 2, sec. 1 cl. 3.
2. US Constitution, amend. 14, sec. 2.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Debates

(Section 17.11.2.1, p. 215, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

US Congress. Congressional Record. 113^th Cong, 1^st sess., 2013. Vol. 159, no. 172.

NOTES

1. Cong. Rec., 113^th Cong, 1st sess., 2013, Vol. 159, no. 172: H7510.

_________________________________________________________________________________
Bills and Resolutions

(Section 17.11.2.3, p. 215, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

US Congress. House. Indian Trust Asset Reform Act. HR. 812, 114th Cong., 2nd sess., Congressional Record 162, daily ed. (February 24, 2016): H879-H884.

NOTES

1. Indian Trust Asset Reform Act, HR. 812, 114th Cong., 2nd sess., Congressional Record, vol. 162, daily ed. (February 24, 2016): H881.

___________________________________________________________________________________
Hearings

(Section 17.11.2.4, p. 216, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

US Congress. Senate. The Agricultural Act of 2014 Implementation After One Year and Farm Credit Administration Pending Nominations: Hearing Before the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry. 114th Cong., 2nd sess., February 24, 2015.

NOTES

1. The Agricultural Act of 2014 Implementation After One Year and Farm Credit Administration Pending Nominations: Hearing Before the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, S. Hrg. 114-145, 114th Cong., 2nd sess., February 24, 2015, 10-15.
2. The Agricultural Act of 2014, 15.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Government Departments and Agencies

(Section 17.11.4, p. 217, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

US Department of Justice. Civil Rights Division. Disability Rights Section. ADA Guide for Small Towns: A Guide For Small Local Governments, Rural Counties, April 2000.

NOTES

1. US Department of Justice, ADA Guide for Small Towns: A Guide For Small Local Governments, Rural Counties, April 2000.

Case law

Federal

Generally, sources that can be omitted from a bibliography include newspaper articles, abstracts, brief reports, interviews, personal communications, blogs, social network postings, the US Constitution, and legal cases. See Turabian manual, section 16.2.3 (p. 160) for extensive list and information about items crucial to your argument.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Example ]
NOTES

1. New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 US 713 (1971).

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions