Research Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style Citation Examples: Media

Video/Audio Recordings

Online
DVD

Films on Demand

(Section 17.10.3.1, p. 208, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

NOTES

1. The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley, directed by Alex Gibney (Home Box Office, 2019), https://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu:2048/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97348&xtid=182965.
2. The Inventor.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
YouTube

(Section 17.10.3.3, p. 210, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

NOTES

1. Last Week Tonight, “Multilevel Marketing,” published November 7, 2016, video, 31:57, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6MwGeOm8iI.
2. Last Week Tonight.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Podcast

(Section 17.10.3.3, p. 210, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

NOTES

1. Chuck Bryant and Josh Clark, "Who Committed the 1912 Villisca Ax Murders?" August 2, 2017, in Stuff You Should Know, produced by Jeri Roland, podcast, 50:14, https://open.spotify.com/episode/4QDj8IgeR5qN5Orsln6Bqk?si=sADQZCzFSmSIaOL7brBjeQ.

____________________________________________________________________________
Radio Program

(Section 17.10.3.2, p. 209, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Turabian Citation Example for Radio Broadcast ]

NOTES

1. “How Wild Birds Team Up With Humans To Guide Them To Honey,” Nell Greenfieldboyce, All Things Considered, aired July 21, 2016, on NPR. https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2016/07/21/486471339/how-wild-birds-team-up-with-humans-to-guide-them-to-honey.
2. “How Wild Birds," Nell Greenfieldboyce, aired July 21, 2016, on NPR.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Music/Sound Recording

Bibliography

Notes

1. Janelle Monáe, "Q.U.E.E.N.," featuring Erykah Badu, track 3 on The Electric Lady, Bad Boy Records, 2013, Spotify streaming audio, https://open.spotify.com/track/3HW030T8eqPs8wpsgZqCGM?si=q3D2s4fhR6CRynwYhNBlzg.

Movie DVD

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Example ]

NOTES

1. Cocalero, directed by Alejandro Landes (First Run Features, 2007), DVD, (Red Envelope Entertainment).
2. Cocalero, directed by Alejandro Landes, 2007.

Television Program DVD

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Rome, season 1, episode 2, "How Titus Pullo Brought Down the Republic." Directed by Michael Apted. Aired September 4, 2005, on HBO. DVD. HBO Entertainment, 2006, disc 1.

NOTES

1. Rome, season 1, episode 2, "How Titus Pullo Brought Down the Republic," directed by Michael Apted, aired September 4, 2005, on HBO, DVD (HBO Entertainment, 2006), disc 1.
2. Rome, directed by Michael Apted, 2006.

Painting, Sculpture, Photograph

Artwork viewed in a museum or gallery

BIBLIOGRAPHY

(Section 17.10.1.1, p. 206, 9th edition)

NOTES

1. Claude Monet, Water Lillies, 1915-26, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City.
2. Monet, Water Lillies.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Artwork in a Book

(Section 17.10.1.1, p. 207, 9th edition)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

[ Turabian Citation Example for Artwork in a Book ]

       NOTES
     1. Andrew Wyeth, Lobster #7, 1940, in Susan Strickler, Andrew Wyeth: Early Watercolors (Manchester, NH: Currier Museum of Art, 2004), 20.
     2. Wyeth, Lobster #7, in Andrew Wyeth: Early Watercolors.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Artwork on a Web Page

BIBLIOGRAPHY

    NOTES
     1. Jacques-Louis David, The Oath of the Tennis Court, 1791, in French Revolution II, accessed March 17, 2017, https://www.mtholyoke.edu/courses/rschwart/hist151/French%20Revolution%20II/album/slides/Oath_Tennis_Court.html.
     2. David, The Oath of the Tennis Court, in French Revolution II.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Artwork in an Online Article

BIBLIOGRAPHY

       NOTES
     1. Michelangelo Bounarroti, Rondanini Pieta, ca. 1559–1564, in John T. Paoletti, "The Rondanini 'Pietà': Ambiguity Maintained through the Palimpsest," Artibus et Historiae 21, no. 42 (200): 54, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1483624.
     2. Michelangelo Bounarotti, Rondanini Pieta, in "The Rondanini 'Pietà': Ambiguity Maintained through the Palimpsest."

Images

Provide information about images (charts, graphics, diagrams, photographs, maps, musical examples, and drawings) in a figure caption underneath the image. See Turabian 9th edition manual, pp. 380-382, p.408 for an example in context.

Figure and caption

Figure 2. Day by Michelangelo in Sagrestia Nuova, San Lorenzo, Florence, ca. 1526-33. Image from Creighton E. Gilbert, "What Is Expressed in Michelangelo's "Non-Finito," Artibus et Historiae 24, No. 48 (2003): 58.

Services	Other Links	About Us
Ask a Librarian Teaching Resources Interlibrary Loan Off-campus Access Library DIY	Resource Suggestion/Request Brick & Click Conference Research Awards Maryville Public Library Privacy Policy	Mission Statement Hours Library Directory Horace Mann Library Terms & Conditions