Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turabian Style Citation Examples: Other

Find how to cite a web page, journal, book, eBook, textbook, magazine, newspaper, video, DVD, TV show, Twitter, or Instagram. Find how to format in-text/parenthetical citations, foot/endnotes, and how to cite when no author or date.

Examples

Bibliography

Notes format

     1. Organization, "Article Title", Publication Title volume number, issue no. (date): page number, URL/DOI.
     2. Organization, "Article Title", page number.

NOTES EXAMPLE

     1. World Health Organization, "Striving to Provide Universal Health Coverage in Kazakhstan," Bulletin of the World Health Organization 97, no. 4 (April, 2019): 250, http://dx.doi.org/10.2471/BLT.19.020419.
     2. World Health Organization, "Striving to Provide Universal Health," 251.

  • Alphabetize a source with no named author in the bibliography by the title of the source
  • Use the first word after an article like  "a" or "the"
  • If published by an organization (like the World Health Organization), the organization should be listed as the author

     

Book

Bibliography:
Firefly Guide to Fossils. Richmond Hills, Ontario: Firefly Books, 2003.

     Notes:

     Firefly Guide to Fossils, (Richmond Hills, Ontario: Firefly Books, 2003), 56.

Periodical

Bibliography:

"Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America." China Daily. Accessed May 23, 2016. http://www.chinadaily.com.cn
          /world/2016-11/23/content_27470937.htm.

      Notes:

     "Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America," China Daily, accessed May 23, 2016, http://www.chinadaily.com.cn /world/2016-11/23/content_27470937.htm.

BIBLIOGRAPHY  

(Section 17.6.1, p. 197, 9th edition)

      

Notes:

     1. Hal Hunter, "Hal Hunter Oral History Interview," interviewed by Will Sarvis, Politics in Missouri Oral History Project, Records, 1996-, October 27, 1998, https://digital.shsmo.org/digital/collection/ohc/id/567/.

     2. "Hal Hunter Oral History Interview."

 

 

Lecture

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Instructor/Speaker Last name, First name. "Title/Subject of lecture/." Class Lecture, Course Name, University/College Name, Location,
          Month Day, Year.

     NOTES

      1. Instructor First name Last name, "Title/Subject of lecture" (class lecture, Course Name, University/college Name, Location, Month Day, Year).

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Speech

Speeches, lectures, and presentation transcripts that have been printed in a source should be cited in the medium they are published.

Website example

BIBLIOGRAPHY

King, Martin Luther, Jr. "I Have a Dream." Speech, Washington, DC, August 28, 1963. National Public Radio.
          https://www.npr.org/2010/01/18/122701268/i-have-a-dream-speech-in-its-entirety.

     NOTES

     1. Martin Luther King Jr., "I Have a Dream" (speech, Washington, DC, August 28, 1963), National Public Radio, https://www.npr.org/2010/01/18/122701268/i-have-a-dream-speech-in-its-entirety.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Book (use book chapter format)

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Rivera, Sylvia. "Y'all Better Quiet Down." In Great Women's Speeches: Empowering Voices that Engage and Inspire, ed. Anna Russell,
          (86-87). London: Aurum. 2019. https://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true
          db=nlebk&AN=2012959&site=eds-live&scope=site.

     NOTES

     1. Sylvia Rivera, "Y'all Better Quiet Down," in Great Women's Speeches: Empowering Voices that Engage and Inspire, ed. Anna Russell (London: Aurum, 2019) 87. https://ezproxy.nwmissouri.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=truedb=nlebk&AN=2012959&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Shortened Notes

(Section 16.4.1, pages 164-166, 9th edition)

Shortened notes should be used for all notes following the initial, full note.

The 9th edition of A Manual for Writers lists two options for shortened notes - author-only and author-title notes. Depending on instructor preference and/or discipline, author-title only, or use of both styles of shortened notes may be used and considered correct. Writers using both styles commonly use author-only for the majority of shortened citation, except in instances when multiple works by the same author (or multiple authors with the same last name) are used, in which case author-title is used. Page numbers a required for all styles of notes (shortened and full) when available, and instructors should always be consulted for individual preferences.

Examples:

Book

      Full (first) note:

     1. Alexander B. Murphy, Geography: Why it Matters (Cambridge, UK: Polity Press, 2018), 78.

     Following (subsequent) shortened note:

     2. Murphy, Geography, 82.

OR

     2. Murphy, 82.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Article

     Full (first) note

     1. World Health Organization, "Striving to Provide Universal Health Coverage in Kazakhstan," Bulletin of the World Health Organization 97, no. 4 (April, 2019): 250, http://dx.doi.org/10.2471/BLT.19.020419.

     Following (subsequent) shortened note:

     2. World Health Organization, "Striving to Provide Universal Health Coverage," 251.

OR

     2. World Health Organization, 251.

 

[ B. D. Owens Library ] B.D. Owens Library | 800 University Dr. Maryville, MO 64468 | 660.562.1193 [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Instagram ] [ Spotify ] [ Pinterest ]